Select Page

Changes to the Online Application Form and Candidate Homepage

As of 29th October 2019, changes have taken place in relation to the online application and the Candidate Homepage.

The online application form

The Candidate Homepage

What's changed?

Two key changes have taken place;

  • You no longer need to login to access an online application form
  • There is no longer a Candidate Homepage

The Candidate Homepage previously worked in conjunction with the online application form that was used by a number of local authorities in the West Midlands.  The Candidate Homepage previously allowed candidates to resume part competed applications, access applications that have been submitted previously and if required to withdraw their submitted applications.  Whilst this page has now been removed, this functionality is still available via different methods.

Why have we made the changes?

We are always looking for ways to improve our candidates experience and make it easier for candidates to apply for jobs.  By removing the need to login to the application form, candidates are directed straight into the application form, where they can begin to complete it, removing the frustrations of having to remember account details and reset passwords.  This is the same with the Candidate Homepage as well, whereby candidates can access a copy of their application form and see the jobs they have applied for direct from their own inbox.

How do these changes affect me?

The existing functions previously linked to the application and Candidate Homepage are still – see below for how these functions will now work;

Function How it works
A copy of your application form A copy of this will be attached to the confirmation e-mail you receive after submitting your application form. This e-mail may go into your spam/junk folder so make sure you keep an eye out for it and store a copy.
Resuming a saved application form You will still be able to save your application at any time. Upon saving you will now be asked to enter/confirm your e-mail address. A link and verification code will then be sent to your e-mail so you can continue with your application form at a later time should you want to.
Re-using data from your last application In order to re-use data from your last application, there is a two step process to go through. Firstly you need to enter your e-mail address. If your e-mail address is found in the database, you will then be e-mailed a verification code that you will need to enter. Once verification is successfully completed, your details will be pulled through to the application form.
The status of your submitted application(s) These functions are available via your candidate portal, which you can access via the link at the bottom of the confirmation e-mail you receive after submitting your application.
Withdrawing your submitted application(s)